Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

One Month In October 18, 2010

Filed under: Multiple Sclerosis — clappingonthedownbeat @ 2:40 AM

A few years ago, a very gifted and talented musical friend, informed me that I clap on the downbeat to music. This seems to be an appropriate title for my newly “diagnosed” phase in life. This past month has been anything but on beat. I am hoping I can use this blog to connect with and keep others informed with this new transition.

Let’s begin.

It started September 10 2010. It was a friday night and it was a pay-day, I called my husband and asked if he wanted to meet the kids an I for dinner after work. It was a week before my oldest son’s birthday and I had a coupon for a free birthday dinner for him. (Those who know me, know I am a bargain hunter and always in for a good deal). We had a great dinner and as we were leaving the back of my arms felt like someone had rubbed icy-hot on them. There was a strange prickly feeling. I didn’t think much of it and we went home. Saturday morning I taught a yoga class and noticed that my neck was sore and I had numbness creeping down the left side of my body. I thought back to the weightlifting I had done earlier in the week and all the lifting and carrying of my 20 pound 7 month old. I was sure I had dislodged something in my neck that was causing this.

By sunday, the whole left side of my body was numb. The feeling was like pins and needles after an epidural. I was a little more concerned and called my chiropractor for an appointment. The chiropractor did help alleviate some of the neck pain, but not the numbness.

God places the right people at the right time, and I am so thankful for the words of this friend. She told me to go see my doctor. At first I didn’t really think it would be a big deal, but I would go get it checked. I didn’t make an appointment I just went right away the next day when his office opened.
And then the music changed.

I went in for an MRI that night, Wednesday the 15th. The results came back the 16th. The doctor said it looked like it might be MS, Multiple Sclerosis, go make an appointment with a neurologist. Calmly, I called for a copy of my results from the lab, and then made an appointment with the neurologist, called my husband and then held my 7 month old in my arms with his head on my should and his arms around my neck and I sank to the white tiled kitchen floor and cried. I don’t remember the last time I had cried. Really cried. Not loud sobbing wailing cry, just tears streaming down my face, left side of my body still completely numb.

Now I didn’t even recognize the song.

 

3 Responses to “One Month In”

  1. We will join the “Beat”,whether up or down, and we will clap with any small improvement.
    But we will add another “Beat” and clap even more..
    Because we know you can “Beat” this Amy!
    The music has changed. But you are still the same strong, healthy, determined person.
    Keep your chin up!
    Love you,
    Uncle Tom & Aunt Diane…Even bad dog Weetie

  2. We will join the “Beat”, whether up or down, and we will clap for small improvements.
    But we will add a new “Beat”.
    Amy we know you can “Beat” this.
    The music has changed. But you are still the same strong,healthy,determined woman.
    Chin Up!
    Love You!
    Uncle Tom & Aunt Diane..Even bad dog Weetie!

  3. Cristi Roberts Says:

    Amy, I had no idea you had been diagnosed with MS. I am thinking of you and will be praying for you – I am sure this is a scary diagnosis but God will carry you when you need to be carried. Thinking of you and am so glad I found your blog….
    Cristi Roberts


Leave a Reply

