Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Grocery Ad Day October 20, 2010

Filed under: Meal Planning,Saving Money — clappingonthedownbeat @ 11:54 PM

I love Wednesdays!  On Wednesday I get a small section of the newspaper called Briefing.  In the newspaper come all the grocery store circulars for the week.  I love to sit down and comparison shop for groceries.  Wal-Mart and Target will price match ads, so I only have to make one stop to get a majority of my staples.

This week Tom Thumb has Doritos on sale for $1.79 (13oz) bag.  This is a great deal.  Which means that I will be making mexican casserole this week.  I usually make it when Doritos go on sale.  Sometimes I even double the recipe and freeze half.    I’ll sit down and plan the rest of my meals out based on the ads, but I thought I would start with this one to share.

Mexican Casserole (makes one 13×9 pan)

1 bag of Doritos crushed (the kids like to crumble them in the bag)

1 lb. ground beef

1 large jar of favorite salsa ( I like black bean and corn, but I’ve tried fruit salsa too)

1 can Ranch style beans

1 can Rotel

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 package shredded cheese (cheddar, mexican blend, whatever)

Brown beef and drain.  Add to a large mixing bowl.  Dump all the ingredients in and stir till well mixed.  (Don’t drain any of the cans).  Pour into a 9×13 pan and either bake at 350 covered with foil for about 30 minutes till heated through, or freeze or later.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

