Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Crazy? Shared experiences bond us November 28, 2010

Filed under: Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:02 PM

We enjoyed a filling Thanksgiving meal shared with friends on Thursday afternoon.  We returned home around 6pm, where I dove into the black friday ads scanning and comparing the best deals on the few items I was after.  We put the kids to bed and then I headed out around 9:30 pm.  My first stop was Toys R Us.

The roads were fairly clear.  I was excited that I could get a few items Thursday night and not have to get up early on friday morning.  The closer I got to TRU, the more cars  I started to see.  By the time I got to the parking lot, it was full.  The store was opening at 10pm, and apparently there were  A LOT of other people with the same idea.  I quickly grabbed a parking spot at the back of the lot and walked towards the doors.  Did I mention it was about 30 degrees out?  The line clearly went back towards the other end of the strip mall.  As I was walking to the end a car drove by slowly and I heard the lady talking to another woman say ” the line wraps around the building”.  Well, not only was I not dressed to wait in a line outside for a while, it wasn’t worth it for the 2 items totalling $15 that I had my eye on.  I turned around and walked back to my car.

Off to Walmart.  At least they were open and it would be warm.

Walmart was price matching all back friday ads, so with ads in tow I headed over.  I also had some supply shopping to do for the preschool my daughter attends so I figured I could do that while I waited for the doorbusters at midnight.

I was able to locate the doorbusters I was interested in and proceeded to snag one of three Wii’s on the shelf.  Going early was paying off.  I was going to price match it for $169 and then Walmart was offering a $50 gift card with the Wii purchase.  This was our family gift this year.  I had already bought a few gifts for each child during the year when I saw a good deal.

I had my cart packed to the brim with preschool supplies when I tried to manuever my way back to the door busters.  There were a lot of people crowded around by 11:30pm.  Needless to say, I did not push and shove my way in.  I figured it was not worth getting trampled on or injured over.

The check outline is another story.  Everyone seemed to make a dash for the registers.  And for whatever reason, there were only 14 out of 30 lines open.  It looked like a mass exodus.  People and there carts (plural) were everywhere every which direction.  Slowly more lanes began to open.  Most people were nice, picking items up that fell off an out of my cart.  But there were some who were not.  I understand, it was late, it was crowded, there was disappointment.  The people who I spoke to along the way were in a good mood.  We cracked jokes and marveled at each others finds, and the crowd.

Did you brave the crowds?  Did you snag a good deal?  Hopefully you don’t get caught up in the hype, the thrill or the craze.

Would I do it again?  Well, probably only on line.  Monday is cyber monday, so there may be many of the same deals on the stores websites.  I got home at 1am and most stores posted the same black friday deals on their websites at 2am.  I could have stayed home in my pj’s.

Friday I took another scheduled dose.  That night I tossed and turned all night feeling achy.  I also had the chills, while under a blanket and comforter.  I woke up with a nasty splitting headache.  Now I know what the side effects of “flu like” symptoms feel like.  Good thing I wasn’t planning on doing much.

The rest of the weekend was laid back.  We got out Christmas decorations.  Watched movies and played.

 

 

Leave a Reply

