Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Everything in a place March 11, 2011

Filed under: Hot Deals,Organization — clappingonthedownbeat @ 2:22 PM

Scroll to the bottom for the HOT deals

My MOPS book club just finished reading Coach Mom, which had some great tips for running your house and family like a team.  I thought I would share some of the things I have put together to keep my home running smooth.

1. Car tote

I have a minivan and in the back I keep an emergency tote.  In the tote I keep a seasonally appropriate change of clothes for each child (pants/shorts, tee-shirt, underwear and sweatshirt) in a zip lock bag with their name on it.  I also keep 3 water bottles, snacks (granola bars, crackers), a towel, spray sanitizer, sunscreen, and a first aid kit.  I can’t tell you how many times this tote has saved me at the park or an outing when the weather got cold, we had an accident or suddenly encountered someone in a fountain.

2. Extras

In the car I also keep 3 umbrellas (we are at the point everyone needs their own), a blanket, hats, and a plastic table-cloth.  The table-cloth works great to cover picnic tables at parks or as a picnic cloth for eating or playing on.  I also have a small portable potty and plastic bags for those emergencies at the park when there are no restrooms or when you just leave the store and then someone decides they have to go RIGHT now.  You could also toss in some small toys, books and markers/paper for those times waiting at swim lessons, or in a car pool lane.

3. The Black Book

I keep a three-ring binder full of page protector sheets that I fill with all the important house papers such as; warranties and manuals for appliances.  We have moved over the years and I also keep all the moving papers of what to do when, packing timelines, research for moving companies, ect.  I keep a copy of all the papers from closing- comes in handy the next time you sell to reference.  This is a great place to keep all the business cards of service men who have come to the house to fix or replace items- electricians, plumbers, handyman.  I know what items have been replaced, who did it, and how much it cost.  Let me know if you ever need a referral!

4. The Blue Book

Do you have a favorite take out restaurant?  Sometimes I just want my hubby to pick up dinner on his way home for us.  So I pull out the blue book.  I keep this plastic folder with pockets already attached in the pantry.  Whenever we go out I grab a to-go menu and add it to the folder.  This way when we get dinner to go I can look through all the restaurant menus and decide what we are going to have and call it in.  No need to ask, or look on-line.

Hope that helps!  Share any ideas you have in the comments!

If you haven’t already, be sure to sign up for the Chili’s email club! Just for signing up, you’ll score a coupon valid for FREE Chips & Queso (cheese dip with seasoned beef, served with warm tostada chips and homemade salsa) with the purchase of any entree!

Flirty Aprons is currently hosting an irregular apron sale where you can snag their adorable aprons for only $12.99 (that’s 60% off the retail price)!

Gap is currently offering up a very hot promo for mobile phone users! Just head on over here, enter your mobile phone number and you’ll receive a code (valid from 3/10-3/16) good for $25 off an in-store purchase of $50 or more. You must show the code on your mobile device to receive the discount.

Here’s yet another deal you can score on Walmart.com! Currently, they have thisFamily Game Night Kit priced at just $10 with FREE site to store shipping or $0.97 shipping to your home! This kit includes 2 classic board games (Clue and Sorry) and 2 card games (Monopoly Deal and Scrabble Slam)! Plus, a 2011 calendar, invitations and stickers! This same kit is priced at $21.49 on Amazon.

If you want to snag a free and yummy treat in the next few days, consider heading over to your local Starbucks from 2PM-5PM March 10th through March 12th. To celebrate their 40th birthday, Starbucks is offering up one of their Petites for FREE when you buy any drink (limit one per drink).

 

Leave a Reply

