Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Favorite Things 3.14.11 March 13, 2011

Filed under: Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:08 PM

Two year ago I joined MOPS (mothers pf preschoolers).  I am a table discussion leader and at the beginning of the year they asked all the leaders to bring in a favorite thing to giveaway and introduce themselves with.  Being new to MOPS I wasn’t sure what the norm was so I immediately thought of when Oprah does her show on her favorite things.  ( Although I think that is where lost of companies send her products hoping to make it on the show…..anyway)  I wen around the house and found things that were my favorite.  Needless to say I came in with a  bag of items to give away (magazines, lotto ticket- I love to play games, a pillowcase dress I had sewn- love to knit and sew, cookies I had baked……) Everyone else had brought ONE thing.  Anyway it started a trend because last year a lot of the leaders also brought items in that were there favorite to give away too!

Today is my birthday, so I thought I would share some of my favorite things.

Chocolate Love bar- Almonds and Sea Salt in Dark Chocolate.  You only need a few square at a time!

Clinique super lip balm

Books- these are the current ones I am reading

Study of the Old Testament

How to Ruin your Life by 40 (thanks Michelle!)

Cutting for Stone

My house shoes/slippers.  I get very attached to them.  This pair I got on sale at LLBean.  I still mourn the last pair that I had.  They fell apart after years…. and I searched endlessly to replace them with the same pair, but had no luck.

Coffee.  YUM.  Specifically Lattes or cafe au laits.  Starbucks is a treat.  Notice the coffee pot, large mug AND milk whippper.

Magazines and cook books.  I love reading Living, Real Simple, Everyday Food, Rachel Ray, Southern Living, Better Homes and Gardens, Womens Day….just no celebrity magazines.

Movies!  I love going to the movies or just renting them on redbox.  I’d pay $1 to watch almost any movie.  Have you seen Waiting for Superman?  As a former public school teacher it was a little depressing.

A little pampering now and then.  My hubby got me a pedicure and manicure for my birthday!

So here’s the fun.  I am giving away 1 Starbucks gift card, 1 jar of homemade lemon curd, and my favorite chocolate bar.  Since there are not too many that read this, your odds are high.  I will do a random number drawing for the three items.  Please leave a comment with YOUR OWN favorite item!  Contest closes midnight monday 3/14/11

 

7 Responses to “Favorite Things 3.14.11”

  1. Kari Says:

    My favorite thing would have to be my Hamilton Beach Stay and Go Coffeemaker! 🙂

  2. Lyn Says:

    Hey Amy! I spent 2 hours at your house and forgot to tell you happy birthday today….so happy birthday!!!! My absolute favorite treat is either dark chocolate covered almonds from Market Street or the Linda’s Fudge Cake from Cheesecake Factory, Twilight, Harry Potter, fitness magazines, vintage furniture, and yoga pants 🙂 I’m rooting for the Starbucks Card!!!

  3. Nancy Says:

    Happy Birthday, Amy!

    I remember that from MOPS 2 years ago.

    My favorite things….dark chocolate, vacation planning, Honey Nut Cheerios.

  4. Pamela Milogradov Says:

    Happy Happy Birthday!! LOL! I think this is so funny that you are doing a giveaway 🙂 I love it! My favorite thing is hot Chai Tea with milk and graham crackers. Don’t ask my why, but I eat at least one graham cracker a day!!!

  5. Kristy Says:

    Well, crud, I don’t think I made the midnight cut off but hey, I will still tell you my favorite treat anyway:

    Tart lip stain from Sephora (no need for liner/lipstick and gloss) one color does it all.

    Philosphy scents….fudge cake HMMMMMM MMMMMMMM! But I love anything they put out just about.

  6. Lori Says:

    Okay – obviously not in it for the contest (since it’s Tuesday), but I’ll play anyway!!

    My fav’s:
    Chic Fil A for fast food treats –

    Chic Fil A or Sonic iced tea (I add sweeteners)

    My Kindle – love having my books with me

    Access to my social media – my hubby and kids take up so much time that by the time I have free time, seems like no one else does, so my social media is, well, my only social outlet! LOL!


Leave a Reply

