Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Transitioning March 28, 2011

Filed under: Meal Planning,Saving Money — clappingonthedownbeat @ 12:43 PM

We are in the middle of a move. Out of the old house waiting on the new house, currently staying with a friend, driving back and forth to school, errands, ect.   Please forgive the lack of blogging for a while. Not sure if I will get the grocery ads out where we are staying.   And I am not sure if I will be able to plan far in advance for meals. I can tell you the rundown these past few days and what I am planning on.

Friday- Beef pot pie and chocolate croissants for desserts

Saturday-  Grilled chicken sandwhiches with humus and siced tomatoes.  Also made a great celery salad.

1 package of celery sliced thin
1/2 red onion thinly sliced
1 package crumbled feta
Juice of 1 lemon
2 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

Sunday- Smoked sausage wrapped in store bought pizza dough with roasted garlic and Dijon mustard, and sauteed asparagus
Monday- leftovers
Tuesday- finish up the chicken from the sandwiches and make chicken fettuchini alfredo

Wednesday- Chicken and Dumplings- its cold here and this is a great comfort food meal from my friend Mecca’s meal plan

Chicken and Dumplings
2 boxes of chicken broth (the big ones)
2 cans of chicken (of course you can cook your own chicken and shred it, but I’m in a hurry)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 T butter, 1 tsp olive oil
half an onion, diced
2 stalks of celery, sliced
2 carrots, diced or sliced
1/4 tsp celery seed
1/2 cup milk
salt and pepper to taste
Dumplings:  2 cups flour, 1 tsp salt, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup milk (mix together, will be stiff, you’ll drop small spoonfuls in the boiling broth at the end.)

In a pan big enough to fit it all, saute the veggies in butter and olive oil for a few minutes.  It smells good!  Then add the chicken broth and cream of chicken soup.  Bring to a simmer for about 10 minutes.  (Mix the dumplings together)  Add the chicken (drained), milk, then drop the dumplings in and cook for about 10 minutes.   If it’s not thick enough, add flour and water (mixed together then add it to the pot.) 

Did you see the blog I did on registering for birthday freebies? Well, I used mine and had fun at the mall. I took a picture to show, but I packed my camera cable and I don’t know where it is. So I’ll just have to tell you. I went to AVEDA and got a free full size bottle of body wash. You can choose from body wash, personalized perfume, bath salts or shampoo. I then went to aunt annies for a pretzel, I used my birthday coupon for buy one get one free. I also went to Baskin Robbins for my free birthday ice cream cone and went to JCPennys to use the $10 coupon (comes in the mail to use on anything over $10) I picked out 2 braclets that were on sale and after the coupon only spent $.89! If you haven’t signed up yet, check out that blog I posted and register for your free stuff. Do it for your kids too!

 

Leave a Reply

