Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Life Metaphor September 2, 2011

Filed under: Interests,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 7:50 PM

I was on the phone last night for 1.5 hours with AT&T Uverse because I kept getting a “on Demand is currently unavailable”.

Before vacation, and since we have moved, I have been able to access Sprout, a kids channel, which features show like; Sesame Street, Thomas the Train, and Fireman Sam.  My kids love these shows, and it is convenient to access them on Demand when I am trying to get dinner ready.

The last few days I haven’t been able to bring them up, so I called.  After speaking with 2 representatives, I come to learn that our TV package does not include Sprout so therefore, we do not have access to it on Demand.  I was bummed, I was getting it for the past three and a half months.  It seems so unfair to have something for free and then be told you should not have had it and then it’s gone. They were nice enough to offer me 6 months of movie channels though.

So then I began to think how this is like a metaphor for life.  When we are young we live so vicariously free.  Then, depending on the person, it seems around age 30, the body begins to break down.  Maybe it’s the knees, digestive issues, we get an illness, we get stronger glasses, we don’t recover as quick as we used to, cavities and root canals, we take more medications, arthritis, whatever it maybe and what used to be so easy and without a thought, now becomes harder or we lack the mobility or energy.  I guess I am going to have to get used to the idea that less and less will be free and to not take so much for granted.

We had quite the scare, and actually it’s not over yet.  I had a big health issue last year, now it’s my hubby’s turn.  We just found out that he has a large mass in his colon.  Not sure exactly what it is, so far the test results seem positive, but he needs surgery scheduled asap.  I had the tables turned this time and I was the wondering what the future would look like.  He spent a few days googling horrific pictures, outcomes and probabilities.  The waiting game between tests and answers can be agonizing, but we can’t worry about what we don’t know.  One step at a time and cross each bridge as you come to it.  So the next step is surgery, we’ll see how that goes and then a pathology report.  So all we can do is pray.  Pray that he gets scheduled soon, pray that the surgery goes well and his recovery is quick and positive, and pray that it is just as mass and not more.  I am glad I have a direct line to God for prayers and I don’t have to be put on hold or transferred.

 

5 Responses to “Life Metaphor”

  1. Kari Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this Amy. We will be praying for your family.

  2. lynkearns Says:

    Amy, we will be praying for Brian and the whole family. Please let us know if there is anything at all we can help out with. Lyn

  3. Nancy Says:

    Amy–I’ll be praying for Brian and your family. Please keep me posted!

  4. Corry Says:

    My prayers are being sent to Brian. A good friend sent this to me today labelled: A Summer Prayer. I’m re-sending it to you for hope, comfort and peace…. Jerimiah 29:11-14.

  5. Kristy Says:

    So So sorry Amy. I will be praying. Please let me know if I can help in any way.


Leave a Reply

