Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Oh sweet child of mine November 21, 2011

Filed under: Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 10:58 PM

I am so selfish.

As I spend time with my youngest, who is 21 months, I cringe at the thought of how fast time passes.  For the past 2 years I have met all his needs.  He cries for me, he hugs and kisses me, he tells me bye bye when I leave, I kiss his boo boos, play with him, change him and feed him.  I love being needed.  I love being wanted. I don’t want him to grow up.  It is so selfish.

I see how my other two have grown and how their needs have changed.  They go off to school, they have friends, they play individually, they argue and fight. I am just not AS important.

I know I will have to let go of him, but I just want to keep every moment now for myself.  Too feel his little hand in mine as we play ring- around- the- rosie, the warmth of him sitting in my lap as we read, still being able to carry him places, tickling his feet, and his wet slobbery kisses are all  pure joy.

    

 

One Response to “Oh sweet child of mine”

  1. Nancy Says:

    What a cutie! I can’t believe he’s 21 months!


Leave a Reply

