Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Disolving resolving January 2, 2012

Filed under: Interests,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 7:28 PM

I am not one to make New Year resolutions.

Mainly because they don’t stick.

How many people are able to make drastic (which often resolutions are) changes?

Not to mention that we can plan for the unexpected.

I prefer to look back at the last year, like so many news shows do, and think about what happened the previous year.  What did I learn?  Can I carry over anything into the next year?  What mistakes did I make?  What went well?  What areas can I improve on?  Where do I struggle?

So, last year, 2011, was a year of bad health.  We couldn’t plan for it.  Couldn’t change it.  So I learned to be more flexible.  I learned to accept what is before more and take one day at a time.  I learned to not worry about things I can’t control or don’t know.  I learned to make decisions based on the information at hand.  I learned a lot of patience.  And love.

I am going to continue to love.  Unselfishly.  I am going to think about others first before myself, more.

I am going to continue to take my vitamins.  I always feel better when I do.

I am going to read more.  I started a book club last year and had forgotten how much I love to read.  Less TV more reading.

This last one is terrible.  I hate to admit it, but I am horrendous at remembering names.  Really bad.  I am going to try to learn and remember people’s names better.  This one will be hard.

What did you learn last year?  Any great insights?  What will you carry forward in 2012?

 

2 Responses to “Disolving resolving”

  1. Paula Says:

    Your reflexion of looking at your life in the previous year and making changes had me thinking of what my family went through in 2011. This has been by far, a challenging year for myself only because I am not a big fan of change. I like stability and routine. I learned that the reason why moving to a different Country was so difficult for me as because I didn’t completly inderstand or accept the reasoning behind this move. We made the decision to move to texas for simplicity, quality of life and most importantly, for our family unit to be strong as our children approach their teens. When we lived in Canada, we both had careers and as a result we were stressed trying to manage careers and family life. I feel that i haven’t appreciated my new life in texas because I kept looking back at my old life. I learned taht I need to focus on the reason that we moved here so that I can enjoy my children, take better care of myself, be a better wife to my usband and maybe even go as far as meditating!!

  2. Carol Says:

    I learn so much from you. I wish that good health be your faithful companion, peace your guarded ally, and love your perpetual guide. You are an infinite powerful, fun-loving spirit with wonders before you and the power of your thoughts to shape them. I wish that your every dream come true. That you find yourself surrounded by family, friends, laughter, and good times. I wish that your every cup runneth over financially, romantically, spiritually and creatively. God Bless.


Leave a Reply

