Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Another Year Older… 3/14/12 March 14, 2012

Filed under: Interests — clappingonthedownbeat @ 7:58 PM

So for dinner I made Chicken and Waffle Cupcakes!  Oh Yes we did!

What’s not to like. Waffles- good.  Chick-fil-a chicken nuggets- Yum.  Cinnamon maple cupcakes with maple cream cheese frosting.  Delicious.  And southern.

Chicken & Waffle Cupcakes

Yield: 12 cupcakes

Maple Cinnamon Cupcake:
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup (4 oz) unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup buttermilk

Maple Buttercream:
1 stick butter, room temperature

1/2 pound powdered sugar

1/3 pgk cream cheese

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 tablespoons maple syrup, plus more for drizzling
12 pieces fried chicken (such as Chick-Fil-A nuggets)

3 Waffles, cut into 12 pieces
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners.

In a medium size bowl combine dry ingredients (flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, and baking powder). Set aside.

In stand mixer, beat eggs, sugar, applesauce, vanilla extract, maple syrup and vegetable oil.

With the mixer on low, alternate dry ingredients and buttermilk, until fully combined.

Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake for 15 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on cooling rack before frosting.

Maple Buttercream:
Cream the butter and cream cheese in the bowl of an electric or stand mixer. Add the vanilla extract and pure maple syrup and combine well.

Begin adding in the sugar and mixing thoroughly after each addition. After all of the sugar has been added and mixed thoroughly, give it a taste and decide if you want to add in more maple syrup. For thicker frosting you can gradually add in a little more sugar.

Pipe buttercream onto cooled cupcakes. Skewer a piece of waffle and fried chicken with a toothpick and stick on top of buttercream. Before serving, drizzle maple syrup on top!

Since it is my birthday, and last year I did a favorite things giveaway, here is it again.  Some of my favorite things:

  

     

    

I will be giving away a Starbucks giftcard, MaryKay filled compact, and a chocolate bar.  Just tell me your favorite thing(s) in the comment section to win.  One winner will be chosen at random for all three items.  Contest closes Friday March 16th at midnight.  Winner announced on Saturday March 17th.  Only for US residents.

 

7 Responses to “Another Year Older… 3/14/12”

  1. Paula Azzi Says:

    My favorite thing is anything with maple syrup as it reminds me of home. Such as your maple cupcakes and the maple buttercream.

  2. Noralyn Moore Says:

    I love any type of chocolate with nuts, ice cream flavored with chocolate pieces/nuts, mexican food, and thin crust NY style gourmet pizza. The only thing that’s holding me back from eating these all the time is my acid reflux!

  3. Pamela Milogradov Says:

    So of course my favorite things are Paciugo and Thai food, which came from your love of those things 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful birthday so glad we got to celebrate it with you! Love you friend 🙂

  4. Jodie Says:

    Chick – fil – a 🙂 I just found out there are two express ones on University campuses in MN, so I think E and I will be heading to the Bell Museum soon to check it out!!! I love your cupcakes – I’ll have to try those. I don’t know if they’ll replace my Southern Red Velvet cake though.

  5. Erin Wells Says:

    My favorite things are anything you make!!!! Happy Birthday bestie =)

  6. Ginny D Says:

    My favorite is the Chinese dinner. Really my favorite is spending time with my daughter and her family.


Leave a Reply

