Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Personal Preferences May 7, 2012

Filed under: Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:36 PM

As a former vegetarian (and I still lean that way), there are some veggies I am not keen on.  I have begun to realize that I buy mostly the vegetables that I like and then feed those to my kids.  I have been inadvertently passing down my food preferences to my kids!

I have decided that I will expand our vegetable horizons and buy all kinds of vegetables and make them lots of different ways.  Roasting, grilling, sautéing, raw, pureed.  I also believe that kids need to be exposed to a certain food about 12 times before they accept it (or flat out reject it and then I will accept that).  We do abide by the “3 no thank you bites”.  They must eat three bites of everything on their plate and then they can say no thank you to it.

This week you will see some vegetables highlighted on the menu, especially with summer fast approaching and farmers markets popping up there should be a nice variety.  Take a vacation peas!  Chill out carrots!  Zucchini, artichokes, peppers, summer squash  are coming over for dinner!

 

Leave a Reply

