Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Update on Hubby (*graphic pics*) June 9, 2012

Filed under: Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:11 PM

 

If you are the least bit queasy, don’t look at the pictures.  Although I am fascinated by biology , I do not have a nursing bone in my body.  Warm puke makes me gag, I wince when I get a cut, and can barely look at wounds, and I can not watch the TV if someone is getting an injection, being cut open, having  a bullet removed, you get the idea.

There is a small amount of sick fascination,  (I would love to watch a c-section at some point), but otherwise I have to glance away.  So back to the Hubby.

I should also warn that after all he has been through we have a sense of humor when it comes to health related things now.  So when he got the call from the dermatologist that the mole removed from his back was melanoma we laughed.  Melanoma is not funny.  Melanoma, the most serious type of skin cancer, develops in the cells that produce melanin — the pigment that gives your skin its color.  There is more information HERE.

When the doctor removed the skin she didn’t even think it was a problem.  The area was raised, slightly pink but not discolored or dark.  Here is where I tell you that it is important to visit your dermatologist for screenings.  I just went and that is why Hubby went in.  So after the “seriously?” ( he just finished 6 months of chemo for colon cancer and now skin cancer?), he went in to have a radioactive dye injected to see what lymph nodes that area of skin drained to.  Friday he had surgery to removed more tissue from his back and a lymph node removed under his arm.  He is doing really well and will follow-up with an MRI and another PET scan.

 Surgery in September   Surgery in June

I really do not feel worried about this because Brian and I are very grounded in our faith and have strong reassurance that this is in God’s plan and we move forward one step at a time.  We know he provides for us, loves us and takes care of us. This summer I am doing a bible study on David with some friends and the first session had this wonderful monologue from Priscilla Shrier.

He is the First and Last,  The Beginning and the End! He is the keeper of Creation and the Creator of all!  He is the Architect of the universe and the Manager of all times.

He always was, He always is, and He always will be unmoved, Unchanged, Undefeated, and never Undone!

He was bruised and brought healing! He was pierced and eased pain!
He was persecuted and brought freedom! He was dead and brought life!  He is risen and brings power!  He reigns and brings Peace!  The world can’t understand him,
The armies can’t defeat Him,  The schools can’t explain Him, and The leaders can’t ignore Him.  Herod couldn’t kill Him, The Pharisees couldn’t confuse Him,  and The people couldn’t hold Him!  Nero couldn’t crush Him, Hitler couldn’t silence Him,
The New Age can’t replace Him, and “Oprah” can’t explain Him away!

He is light, love, longevity, and Lord. He is goodness, Kindness, Gentleness, and God.
He is Holy, Righteous, mighty, powerful, and pure.

His ways are right,  His word is eternal, His will is unchanging, and His mind is on me.
He is my Savior,  He is my guide, and He is my peace! He is my Joy,  He is my comfort,  He is my Lord, and He rules my life!

I serve Him because His bond is love,
His burden is light, and His goal for me is abundant life.  I follow Him because He is the wisdom of the wise,  the power of the powerful,  the ancient of days, the ruler of rulers, the leader of leaders, the overseer of the overcomers, and is to come. And if that seems impressive to you, try this for size.

His goal is a relationship with ME!
He will never leave me,  never forsake me,  never mislead me,  never forget me,
never overlook me and never cancel my appointment in His appointment book!

When I fall, He lifts me up!  When I fail, He forgives!
When I am weak, He is strong!  When I am lost, He is the way!
When I am afraid, He is my courage!  When I stumble, He steadies me!
When I am hurt, He heals me! When I am broken, He mends me!
When I am blind, He leads me! When I am hungry, He feeds me!
When I face trials, He is with me! When I face persecution, He shields me!
When I face problems, He comforts me! When I face loss, He provides for me!
When I face Death, He carries me Home!

He is everything for everybody everywhere, every time, and every way.

I hope you have the same reassurance Brian and I have.

 

One Response to “Update on Hubby (*graphic pics*)”

  1. Tam Mans Says:

    Amy and Brian, we are praying for you all. Brian…what a rough year for you–it would try a normal guy’s patience by now. I am so impressed by your grace to laugh through it. Peace, Tam and Jeremy


Leave a Reply

