Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Back to School August 27, 2012

Filed under: Meal Planning,Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 8:27 PM

Today was the first day of school!  I think it gets easier to send them off to school, but then it probably gets hard again when they leave for college.  Last year they took the bus to school, this year, we are riding our bikes to school.  It will probably take them a couple of weeks to condition themselves for the ride back and forth.

    I heard a lot of  “my legs are tired!”

Josh and I then biked over to our local Starbucks for a celebratory starting of school breakfast.  Back to hanging out with my buddy.  We ran into 4 of our neighbors there too!

They both said they had a great day.  Jack said 2nd grade is better than first and he was excited to see his friends from last year.  Kate was nervous the night before about going to school.  She said she didn’t like the teachers yelling at her.  I then explained to her that her teacher’s name this year was Mrs. Yell, but that didn’t mean that she yelled a lot.   Kate came home and said that her teacher was really nice.

I made a fantastic past dish tonight for dinner.  Super easy and quick.  I got it from The Pioneer Woman on the Food Network and adapted it for what I had.

PASTA with LEEKS and BACON

1 pkg. pasta ( I used orechette)

2 leeks sliced and rinsed in cold water (they grow in sand)

6 slices bacon chopped

2 Tbs butter

1/2. cup white wine (or chicken stock)

1/2. cup 1/2 and 1/2

parmesan cheese

Cook pasta al dente.  Chop bacon and cook till almost brown in a large skillet.  Add the drained leek slices, breaking them up with your fingers to the bacon.  Add the butter and saute till soft and translucent.  Add the wine and cook till it is reduced by at least half.  Turn the heat to low and add the 1/2 and 1/2.  Drain the pasta and toss it in with the bacon and leeks.  Top with parmesan and serve.

  This is what was left before Jack left for football.  He finished it up at football practice.  Sadly no leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

 

One Response to “Back to School”

  1. Nancy Says:

    I applaud you for cycling to school! We walk (we live only 1/2 mile away) but we’re still in the minority.

    I think for me it will be really hard when my youngest goes off to kindergarten. 😦


Leave a Reply

