Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Quick Meal Plan 9.14.12 September 14, 2012

Filed under: Meal Planning — clappingonthedownbeat @ 1:13 PM

It was a busy week.  Hubby was out of town, so I put on all the hats this week (chauffeur, cook, teacher….)  I opted for quick, everybody friendly meals that I could make in-between homework and sports practices.

FRENCH TOAST

  

I love brioche or Challah bread for french toast.  For us, we use up the whole loaf.  I scramble 4 eggs and mix in about 1/4 c. flavored half and half ( this was vanilla, but I like hazelnut too).  It adds extra flavor.  I serve it with turkey bacon that I cook in the oven on a cooling rack over a cookie sheet at 400 for about 15 minutes.  We also had mixed berries on the side.

MEXICAN CASSEROLE

   

Cook off 2lbs.  of ground turkey or beef.  Save half the cooked ground meat for nacho dinner.  In a large bowl mix; cooked ground meat, 1 jar salsa, 1 can ranch style beans, 1 can rotel, 1 can cream of mushroom or chicken soup, 1 pkg shredded cheese, 1 bag Doritos crushed into little bits.  Let the mixture sit for an hour or 2 in the fridge if you have the time before cooking.  Back at 375 for 20-30 minutes till heated through.  Serve with sour cream and guacamole.

GRILL CHEESE, SOUP AND SALAD

     

I found a cheese knife in my gadget drawer.  Didn’t even realize I had it, but I have to say, it cuts cheese really nicely.  I think I might have to find some excuses to serve and cut cheese more.  Anyway, I made grilled cheese sandwiches with Gruyère cheese and turkey.  I mad a lentil vegetable soup and cherry tomato salad.  For the soup, I sautéed 1 onion in 2 tbs. olive oil and added 3 cloves of chopped garlic after the onions were translucent.  I then add 1 tsp. grated ginger and 1/2 tsp. ground cumin.  Pour in 1 carton broth or stock and add 1 c. mixed lentils (or split peas, barley) and 2 chopped carrots.  For the salad I dumped 1 pint cherry tomatoes with 1 package of fresh mozzarella balls and drizzled olive oil and balsamic vinegar over and tossed with 1/2 c. fresh basil leaves.

DECONSTRUCTED TACOS  or  BUILD YOUR OWN NACHOS

On a plate I put a handful of Tostitos ( we like the Artisian black bean flavor).  I put out the reserved cooked ground meat, cheese, roasted cauiflower and carrots, salsa, black beans, olives/jalepenos, and whatever other toppings you might like (maybe lettuce and sour cream after they are heated).  I have the kids add their toppings and then pop the dishes in the microwave for a few seconds to heat it up and melt the cheese.  SO much fun to then eat with your hands!

PASTA

Everybody loves pasta here, so this is a no brainer.  I thawed out sauce that I had made earlier and froze (remember those HUGE cans of tomatoes I bought?)  added the leftover ground meat and some cooked pasta.

One thing I love to do it cook double my protein and save it for another meal.  This is easy to do with chicken or ground meat.

 

Leave a Reply

