Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Another year passes September 18, 2012

Filed under: Multiple Sclerosis,Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 2:16 PM

September marks many things for me.

Today is my oldest son’s birthday.

  

I really feel like it wasn’t that long ago that I quit my job teaching HS to stay home with him.

 

Last night I was really proud of him.  We have a schedule conflict between football practice (M, W, F night practice) and Awanas (M nights).  We asked him what he would like to do and he was very firm about going to Awanas even if it meant less time playing in the football games.  Every once in a while I really do feel like I have or am doing something right.

 

It also marks 2 years since I had my first attack.  I had a 7 month old, my oldest was starting Kindergarten and my left side went numb.

I met with the neurologist yesterday to review the latest MRI and I had a blood draw today to check all my enzyme functions.  I really like this neurologist.  I can’t begin to explain how important I feel the relationship, a good relationship, is between a patient and a doctor.  I don’t want to feel like a cow through a chute, or a chart number walking through the door.  I want to feel like they have time for me and to answer my questions.  I don’t want to feel rushed, and I want them to look in my eyes when they tell me something and even write it down or print it off so I can take it home to reread.

I probably feel this way, because the 5 of us have a lot of doctors.  Pediatrician, Pediatric Cardiologist, Dentist, Family Doctor, ENT, Neurologist, OBGYN, Oncologist, GI Doctor, Surgeon.  I think that’s the lot.

 

2 Responses to “Another year passes”

  1. You forgot Dermatologist:-) bk

  2. and also Chiropractor;-) bk


Leave a Reply

