Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Out with the Old in with the New September 22, 2012

Filed under: Organization,Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 4:18 PM

I have always liked trying new recipes and new foods.  Each week I try to incorporate at least 2 new recipes to my meal plans and to introduce the kids to new foods.  However, I have to say that I do have some food bias.

A little back story.

In 1999 the Hubby and I spent about 6 months as Canoe guides in Ketchikan Alaska.

     

We had access to A LOT of salmon.  We ate a lot of salmon.  I will still eat it, but Hubby will not after Alaska.

So I rarely buy salmon.

Now, back to this morning.  I usually grocery shop by myself if I can, but I needed to run to Whole Foods for some items after my yoga class and I had the two boys with me.  While I was at the meat counter, my oldest asked if he could go have a sample.  Without asking what it was I said “yes” and he went off.  He returned eating something pink.  I asked “what are you eating?”  He replied “I loved this!  It’s salmon.  Can I have more?”  Shocked, but thrilled I said “of course”.  We headed off to the sample woman and she showed me she was serving smoked salmon (we served pounds of smoked salmon on our canoe tour).  My oldest loved it, and since I am always looking for quick breakfast ideas we bought a package.  He has already eaten half the package since we have been home.

So, lesson to myself; out with the old ideas, in with the new.  Who knew he’d like smoked salmon?  He’s 8!  I must give my kids more credit and keep expanding their pallets.

This week I bought to try parsnips and fresh figs.

Now on to the medicine cabinet.  My youngest has had bad allergies this week and I have his allergy medicine upstairs and downstairs among a box and drawer full of other stuff.  When it the last time you cleaned out your medicine cabinet or looked at expiration dates?  Are you well stocked for cold and flu season?  Do you have a prescription from more than 5 years ago still in the cabinet?

What’s good to have on hand?  (western and alternatives)

  • Probiotics (some are shelf stable, some need to be refrigerated)
  • Antibiotic ointment
  • Vitamin C
  • Acetaminophen (adult and children’s)
  • Antihistamine
  • Calamine lotion
  • Honey (a 1/2 tsp a few times a day will sooth a cough)
  • Camomile tea (has anti-inflamatory effects)
  • Oregano Oil ( has anti-viral properties take 2 drops in 1/2 tsp olive oil before a cold comes on)
  • Tea tree oil

I don’t like playing doctor since I am not one, so when there is old medication I like to get rid of it.  Most expires after a year.  And just a thought, but most western drugs are aimed at stopping or suppressing the body’s natural way of healing (decongestants, cough suppressants)

Happy Cleaning!

 

Leave a Reply

