Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

i (heart) Savannah: Day 1 November 9, 2012

Filed under: Interests,Sharing and Caring,travel — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:35 PM

The hubby and I just returned from a fantastic vacation (sans kids, trips are with kids, vacations w/o).  I would return to Savannah in a heartbeat.  I loved the history, the architecture, the food, the people, the food……I definetly ate my way through.

Our first day we drove to downtown historic Savannah from the airport, only about 20 minutes.  We stayed at a bed and breakfast on the river.  Our room was huge.  I expected just a bedroom in a large house, but this was an old cotton warehouse turned into a bed and breakfast.  We had a large sitting room with a couch, 2 chairs, a desk and TV.  There was a kitchenette with a full size fridge, a bathroom and then the bedroom looking out on the water.  The room came with breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening and they delivered Klondike bars with the turn down service.

Once we checked in, we grabbed some lunch at Tubby’s on the river.  I had a fried green tomato BLT.  Yum!  The weather was fairly warm the first day we were there.  The day before was the 2nd Annual Rock and Roll Marathon.  17,000 people came to run.  There were still a lot of runners left over sightseeing.  After lunch, we continued to walk down the river and look in some of the shops along the way that used to be old cotton warehouses.  Savannah claims to be the 4th largest port.  We did see lots of tankers and cargo ships on the river.

    

Knowing we had a limited amount of time, and I like to see as much as I can to get a feel for a place I had done my homework a head of time and had a general list of places I wanted to go and things we should do.  I consulted one of my favorite magazines, Southern Living,  that has no let me down on the last few trips.  I have to agree with most of their recommendations.

I had wanted to go to Paula Deen’s restaurant, Lady and Sons, but when we walked by there was a line and it looked like mostly a buffet.  I later found out that it is a very touristy place to go (not a locals) and that Mrs. Wilkes who ran a boarding house and now has a restaurant has been serving the same type food for years (before Paula).  Also southern buffet.

  

So we went to Olde Pink House.  The city is laid out in 22 squares.  It is one of THE most beautiful cities I have ever been to.  Each square has a grassy park that the homes and restaurants are laid out around.  Easy to walk around- no need for a car.  Before dinner (we had a late reservation) we caught a great live band playing on one of the squares.  I love to people watch and we saw many different kinds of people rock out to the wide mix of cover songs the band played.  We were both fascinated by the man who walked with a kitten on his shoulder (it was barely hanging on, claws flared, for dear life).

  Olde Pink House is on Reynolds Square.

Savannah’s Olde Pink House was so named for the beautiful shade of “pink” stucco, which covers its old brick. This Georgian mansion was built in 1789 for James Habersham Jr., one of Savannah’s most important early cotton factors and founding-family members.

    

I had: Low Country She Crab Soup and Mixed Greens With caramelized apple, pecan, goat cheese fritter w/champagne citrus vinaigrette

Hubby had: oysters on the half shell and Almond Encrusted Tilapia W/shrimp herb butter, creamy grits & mixed beans

The food was INCREDIBLE.  My love affair with grits, green tomatoes and sea food had begun.

Next post, day 2.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

