Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Give and Take November 25, 2012

Filed under: Yoga — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:30 PM

The holidays are always a busy time, and since we usually stay home, that means I pick up lots of yoga classes for those that are out of town.  This week is no exception.  I have been teaching 2-3 classes a day.  Which is more than my normal 3 classes a week.

I love teaching yoga.  I love reading yoga books.  I love practicing yoga.  I love yoga workshops.  I watch yoga on-line.  I plan out my classes.

Sometimes I feel depleted.  I have expended a lot of energy to create a class.  I sometimes have physically adjusted and massaged practitioners.  I get tired.

This weekend two things happened.

First, I had a woman after class come up to me and tell me how much she appreciated my classes and really looked forward to coming to class.  That really made my day and filled my “tank”.

Second, I taught a Yoga 101 workshop Saturday.  While teaching I had a woman break down and cry and tell me how hard yoga was because she had a very hard time with her left and right, explaining that as a child she was constantly corrected to use her right hand instead of her left and that now she has difficulty when hearing right arm, left leg, ect, commands.  I explained to her that the beauty of yoga is that it is for no one else but yourself.  It doesn’t matter if you are doing what everyone else is doing, or if you look like everyone else because it is your practice.  The more familiar you become with it, the more you understand it, and your body and you have freedom in movement.

The coolest thing was, she showed up today (sunday) in the afternoon class I subbed. I was so excited to see she came back.

So many times I have had students come up before or after class and tell me very personal things, how they feel, or ask questions about and injury, illness, pain, ect.   I am overwhelmed with the confidence and trust they put into me.  When I feel like I have made a small difference for someone (even if it is sharing my playlist for a song they loved), it re-energizes me and excites me to teach the next class.

We all need that don’t we?  We all need to be encouraged, appreciated, thanked for what we do.  And we need to do that for others.  Who in your life helps you out in small ways that maybe needs to be thanked, encouraged, or appreciated?  Everyday people.

The mailman

A neighbor/friend/mentor

The garbage/recycling man

A leader (religious, group, troop, scout)

A coach

 

One Response to “Give and Take”

  1. Michelle Mae Says:

    Your blog really touched me today. I appreciate your writing and sharing your ideas and thoughts, along with recipes and shopping deals. Thank you, Amy!


Leave a Reply

