Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

A child at heart December 11, 2012

Filed under: Crafts,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 4:24 PM

All three of my children (8,6,nearly 3) are playing together.  Quietly.  Sharing.  Ahhhh.  I can hear the legos clicking together.  What a gift!

Today, I spent a special day with my “baby” who is nearly 3.  We headed down to Dallas to see the Christmas train display.  Then we walked the mall and saw the ducks and turtles (yes, at the indoor mall) and had lunch together and saw a puppet show.  He was incredibly well behaved just walking around with me (not running off) and we had so much fun.  I remember when I was little my mom taking my brother and I, at Christmas time to see a puppet/marionette show at our small local mall.  I loved that puppet show.  I adore passing favorite childhood memories and traditions down to my kids.  We also celebrate St. Nick’s Day on December 6 when the kids open their stockings.

The very early tradition of Saint Nicholas Day was that the children would place their boots and shoes near the fireplace at night and receive the same types of treats that we did. In most European countries, they still celebrate the day by children putting out their shoes and boots before going to bed.

Do you have family traditions or are you starting new ones?

DSC06301  DSC06306

I also worked on a Christmas gift.  One that was personal to me as I reflected over the past year or two with our family.

DSC06293 DSC06295

 

James 1:2-8

Consider it JOY, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

 If you don’t know what you’re doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. You’ll get his help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it. Ask boldly, believingly, without a second thought. People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves. Don’t think you’re going to get anything from the Master that way, adrift at sea, keeping all your options open.

Merry CHRISTmas

 

Leave a Reply

