Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Day 1: Maybe I will just keep my toxins January 2, 2013

Filed under: Interests,Meal Planning,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 6:11 PM

I started the juice fast/cleanse today.  I got a juicer for Christmas, and I will say one thing, I don’t think I can ever buy store-bought juice again.  Holy fruits!

For breakfast I had a green apple/carrot juice.  YUM!  3 green apples and 3 carrots.  Whoosh!  Juice.

DSC06405  DSC06406 DSC06407

For lunch I tried beets and grapefruit.  It looked so pretty.  Doesn’t it look pretty?  I have tried beets many ways, and they are not one of my favorite vegetables, but I thought juiced, maybe they would be good.  Not so much.  But I drank it anyway.

DSC06408  DSC06409

Then at about 4pm I started to remember why I had struggled with cleanses in the past.  I started to feel crappy.  This is the hump.  I have heard once you get over the hump (day 3) things feel much better.  All the toxins purging the system.  It’s so easy to cave in.  Especially while making sloppy joes…..

But, instead I made another juice.  And ate my vitamins.

DSC06410

Back to green apple/carrot in the afternoon.  The kids even wanted some now and my son even said “hey mom, I didn’t know you could make your own juice!”

Ok.  I can do this.  I can make it.  Tomorrow I have cucumbers!

 

Sloppy Joes:

1 lb ground turkey or beef, cooked

1 c. Ketchup

1/2 c. BBQ sauce

1 Tbs. Worchestershire

1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes

Garlic Texas Toast

Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Add ketchup through tomatoes to cooked ground meat.  Stir and simmer on low for 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, heat oven and toast Texas toast.  Serve sloppy joes on toast and top with cheese.

 

Leave a Reply

