Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Everyday is Mother’s Day May 11, 2013

Filed under: Parenthood,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 5:16 PM

Tomorrow being Mother’s Day, I thought the timing of this was perfect.

I picked up the kids from school and headed over to the UPS store to mail of packages for my mother and mother-in-law.  Next to the UPS store is a frozen yogurt store, and since there was exceptional behavior (no one screamed, cried, threw  or broke something) I told them we could get a frozen yogurt.

After said yogurt and exclamations to the car of  “You are the best mom”  and “my favorite mom”, I asked them why they never said that when I didn’t get them a treat.  I asked ” why when I discipline you do you never say I am the best mom ever?”  That’s when you should really thank me.   Next time try saying “mom, thank you for correcting my behavior” or “mom, thank you for taking away my privileges and giving me thinking time”.

There were some really strange looks on their faces.

But it got me thinking…..

I themed my next yoga class on gratitude.  And not just having gratitude for the things we have, the people in our lives, and blessings, but even for the hard times, the trials, the pains, the losses and the hurts.  These are the things that shape us, change us and correct us.  These are often the things that make us who we are.  MOre humble, more caring, more empathetic, more hopeful, more connected, more giving.

Hey, MOM!  Thanks for disciplining me, not giving in to my wants, and shaping me to be the person I am today!  I love you.

 

One Response to “Everyday is Mother’s Day”

  1. Ginny DiNovis Says:

    Amy,You melted my heart with your last line. You became a very beautiful woman and Mom. Thanks for giving me some of the credit.HAppy Mom’s Day. I am wearing my bracelet. That was a perfect gift and very thoughtful just like you are. Love, Mom Date: Sat, 11 May 2013 22:16:32 +0000 To: gdinovis@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

