Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Advocates June 12, 2013

Filed under: Parenthood,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 10:09 PM

A couple of things have struck me these past few weeks.

#1  Hubby’s oncologist put him into remission

#2   I am seriously considering homeschooling my daughter next year for 2nd grade

#3 My routine and schedule have changed and shifted into summer mode

#4  Teenagers were making out in my neighborhood pool at 4pm yesterday (and there were young kids swimming around)  I was THAT mom that asked them politely to stop.

Ok, number 4 was just a vent.

As I was preparing for my yoga classes, I came across these two quotes:

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”
― Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

 

“Whatever it is you are really desiring, give it away. If it’s companionship, give it to someone else, and just listen to them and be there. If it’s money, give it to someone who is less fortunate. If it’s encouragement, give it to others. If it’s friendship, become the best friend you can be to others. If it’s time, serve others with your time. You will be amazed to see how much more of everything you have when you are willing to freely give.”

 

It got me to thinking of how we need to be advocates in so many ways.  I need to be a health advocate for my husband.  I need to be an educational advocate for my daughter.  I need to be an advocate for my friends who are “doing life” right along with me.  I need to be an advocate who thinks of others first.

So often, I think we can get caught up in the worldly mentality of “me first”.  Ok, yes it is important to take care of yourself, but honestly, I can be less selfish in many areas without sacrificing taking care of myself.

So a few questions to mull over.

How can I be more of a beautiful, giving person?

How can I make more connections?  Believe it or not, but a lot of the time I feel kinds lonely.  I am around people all the time, but I am not necessarily connecting with them.  Don’t get me started on the evils of Facebook, texting, ect.  I really do think technology and media are driving people further away.  Has the art of conversation vanished?  Can we express ourselves without abbreviations or an emoticon? 😉 :0  :/

I can’t answer the questions now, but I can work on them.

 

One Response to “Advocates”

  1. Nancy Powell Says:

    Hi Amy! I do think the art of conversation has vanished somewhat. I have a private family blog, and it’s mostly a one-way communication from me to my family. I wish it was more conversational.

    I’m curious why you are thinking about homeschooling?


Leave a Reply

