Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

The problem with being sick August 2, 2013

Filed under: Meal Planning — clappingonthedownbeat @ 7:02 PM

I don’t get sick often, but when I do, I get really miserably sick.  By Tuesday, I felt so bad I went into the Dr. for a strep test.  Which, unfortunately, was negative.  Yep, unfortunately, because that means it is/was viral and I just had to suffer through it.

Thanks to some amazing friends brining dinner, watching my kids all day, I was able to rest Thursday.  Which also brings me to my problem.

When I am sick and rest all day in bed, I watch food shows.  Watching food shows makes me hungry and compile recipes.  When I feel better all I want to do is cook.

Now that I am feeling a little better, our first recipe is Shrimp Boil.

0-13  0-8  0-6 0-6

First prepare the seasoning sachet.

•1 tablespoon crushed red-pepper flakes

• 1 tablespoon mustard seeds

• 4 to 5 dried bay leaves

• 6 whole allspice

• 3 tablespoons coriander seeds

• 1 tablespoon dill seeds

Next prepare the water pot.

Bring 5 quarts of water to a boil in a 10- to 12-quart pot. Squeeze juice from 2 lemons into water, then add the halves. Add 2 onions quartered, 4 cloves garlic, and spice bundle.

The rest goes really quick, so this is a great FAST dinner.

Add 2- 3 lbs red potatoes, washed, to pot, reduce heat, and simmer, covered, until potatoes are almost tender, about 10 minutes. Add 8 ears corn, cut in half; continue cooking 5 minutes more.  Stir in 3 lbs tail on  shrimp, submerging them completely. Cover partially, and let stand until shrimp are cooked through, about 3 minutes.

Serve with melted butter and hot sauce.

My son really likes salmon too.  I have a really simple way to prepare it.

Salmon en papillote:

0-13  Cut a piece of parchment paper into a heat shape.

Open the heart and on one half place an assortment of fresh herbs (I had oregano, chive, thyme, basil).

0-13

Then lay the salmon down on top of the herbs.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Place a few slices of lemon on top and then fold over the other side of the heart.

0-14 0-15

Begin to crimp the edges making small tight folds.  Before finishing the top, pour in some dry white wine, a few tablespoons.  Then seal the top with the folds.  Bake at 450 for 12-15 minutes depending on thickness of fish.  The fish steam beautifully and it makes a wonderful presentation when you cut open the top and the steam pours out.

0-8

 

Leave a Reply

