Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

A social experiment August 27, 2013

Filed under: Interests,Parenthood,Sharing and Caring,Yoga — clappingonthedownbeat @ 3:50 PM

Over the weekend I had my hair cut and highlighted.  I usually don’t highlight it, I just cover over the grays or touch up the roots.  However, I was really in the mood for something different, a little edgy.  I gave the hairstylist creative license.  I mean, it’s just hair.

0-6  0-14

Yes, that is fire engine red.  There is more in the back but is was hard to take a picture.  I really love it.  And the best part, it some of the stares or looks I get.    It is really fun to watch people’s reactions.  I have noticed three:

(1) They come right out and say ” I like your hair”  or ” what made you go bold?”  Fun hair.

(2) They say nothing, even though there is a big change  (then again, if you have nothing nice to say, better to say nothing at all, I guess)

(3) Their body language gives it away.  Their eyes move all over the place, their eyebrows squish together, their nose wrinkles.  It is almost as if I have made them uncomfortable.

My kids like it.  The funny thing about kids, is most of them don’t say anything.  I am not sure if they even notice.

In yoga training about 6 years ago, they had us go through a compassion assignment.  We were to choose a Dr. written diet and stay with it for a month.  THe purpose was to build compassion for people who were making a lifestyle change to get off the couch, try yoga, lose weight, ect.  Some did very drastic diets, some not too much.  Either way we all learned a lot.

Coloring my hair is a change I chose and can easily grow out, cut out or dye back.  But for many, something that sets them apart from the “norm” often is not so easily changed or concealed.  A woman who has lost her hair to chemo, a prosthetic limb, hearing aids, wheel chair, ect.

When I walk around and notice people making strange faces, or commenting on my hair, I am forced to think  “when will we be able to move beyond what we see and judge?”  It happens all the time, and I am no exception.  But this is a great reminder to myself to build compassion and love for others.

How often do people cloak and hide the “ugly” so they can appear “normal”?  Do we really know the baggage others are carrying around?

As I was working on my yoga themes for class, I have one coming up on LIFE.  I thought it would make a great conclusion for this blog.

Rules for being human:

1. You will receive a body. You may like it or hate it, but it’s yours to keep for the entire period.
2. You will learn lessons. You are enrolled in a full-time informal school called, “life.”
3. There are no mistakes, only lessons. Growth is a process of trial, error, and experimentation. The “failed” experiments are as much a part of the process as the experiments that ultimately “work.”
4. Lessons are repeated until they are learned. A lesson will be presented to you in various forms until you have learned it. When you have learned it, you can go on to the next lesson.
5. Learning lessons does not end. There’s no part of life that doesn’t contain its lessons. If you’re alive, that means there are still lessons to be learned.
6. “There” is no better a place than “here.” When your “there” has become a “here”, you will simply obtain another “there” that will again look better than “here.”
7. Other people are merely mirrors of you. You cannot love or hate something about another person unless it reflects to you something you love or hate about yourself.
8. What you make of your life is up to you. You have all the tools and resources you need. What you do with them is up to you. The choice is yours.
9. Your answers lie within you. The answers to life’s questions lie within you. All you need to do is look, listen, and trust.
Five (5) Simple Rules to be Happy
1- Free your heart from hatred.
2- Free your mind from worries.
3- Live simply.
4- Give more than expected.
5- Expect less.
 

2 Responses to “A social experiment”

  1. Carol Says:

    I love your hair!!! Love you, how did you get to be so wise, I want to be you when I grow up.
    Blessing

  2. Michelle Mae Says:

    Amy, thank you for your blog and for this post. Your insight, clarity, and wisdom is inspiring to me. And your hair looks great!


Leave a Reply

