Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

The Buffet September 22, 2013

Filed under: Interests,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:52 PM

This is a soap box post, so if you’d rather not read- just skip it.

0-6

I went with my neighbor to the Dallas cooking convention to see Paula Deen.  I really enjoyed watching her show on the Food Network.  What really gets me, is that we live in a country that prides itself on justice, fairness, righteousness, yet how we punish.  I am not saying that any allegations are right, or what Paula may have said YEARS ago in the south, when things were VERY different, was right.  However, whatever happened to forgiveness and innocent until proven guilty?

“The Food Network passed on renewing Deen’s contract and yanked her shows off the air. Smithfield Foods, the pork producer that paid Deen as a celebrity endorser, dropped her soon after. Retailers including Wal-Mart and Target said they’ll no longer sell Deen’s products and publisher Ballantine scuttled plans for her upcoming cookbook even though it was the No. 1 seller on Amazon. Even the diabetes drug company that made the much-criticized deal to hire Deen as a paid spokeswoman dumped her.”

This was right after her deposition regarding a harassment charge was made public.  Not after a trial.

This is not the only case.

Daily I see hate, violence, and injustice.  Groups with loud political voices scream to be heard, accusing anyone who doesn’t accept them, discriminates against them.  Where is my voice?  Where are my values?  Don’t I have just as much of a right to my beliefs?  My values?

Not if it seems politically incorrect.

It’s a shame.  Where is forgiveness?  Where is love?  Where is fairness?

This is also why I don’t watch the news.  It’s so depressing and upsetting.

But, I do recommend CBS SUNDAY MORNING NEWS I see more happy stories about real people who make a difference.  Interest pieces.  Historical pieces. Science and Technology.  I don’t have to worry about what my kids will see or hear if they watch with me.  That’s what’s on my DVR for tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

