Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Seasons November 19, 2013

Filed under: Interests,Parenthood,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 4:17 PM

I haven’t sat down to write for a while.  It’s been one of those times were life has been busy.  But, it’s just a season.

My son’s football team has had an undefeated season and we are headed to the Superbowl on Saturday.  This year has been one of team bonding, strengthening on new friendships, excitement and joy as we have watched the boys grow.

This season of homeschooling my daughter has taught me a lot.  It’s been a time of learning for both of us, plus some nice bonding time.

My youngest potty trained at the end of the summer and then started preschool.  It has been a new season of independence for him and  a wearing down of Mom.  He is a ball of energy equal to all three.  I am praying that year 4 will bring us a new season?

My Husband has a new job, which has brought more travel for work.

With Thanksgiving approaching next week, there have been writings and postings of gratefulness, and thankfulness, but I am going to write on something I read that has convicted me- Thanks-sharing.

“Through Him then, let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that give thanks to His name. And do not neglect doing good and sharing, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.” Hebrews 13:15-16

Enough. That’s what I have. Really, more than enough.

More than enough clothes in my closet. Food in my fridge. Shoes spread on the floor. Stocked pantry.

My children have books, warm jackets, shoes, toys, good health and opportunities for more. I have a bed with clean sheets, soft pillows, a kitchen table we all sit at to eat large meals, and indoor plumbing.

A few years ago we committed to support a missionary family,  The Brook Ministries in Costa Rica.  Here they uprooted, left family and planted themselves to serve God, full in faith and trust.

Food drives, clothing drives, Operation Christmas Child, drop off donations…..all great things.

My husband and I have never taken our provisions for granted. Every day we are thankful for the blessings of our home and family.  But sharing involves sacrifice.  So, I ask “what is it I am struggling to share?”  “Am I not tusting in God as my provider?”

So in this season of giving, I now wrestle with “what is it I am called to sacrificially share”?

1 Timothy 6:18, “Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.”

 

2 Responses to “Seasons”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Hi! I luv that you posted again! Are you pregnant with your 4th? Is that what the new season will be comment was about?


Leave a Reply

