Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Playing Catch Up January 12, 2014

Filed under: Interests,Meal Planning,Saving Money,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 8:31 PM

I feel like a took a vacation from writing for a while.  Always had the best intention to get to the blog, but it didn’t happen.  So here’s what I was going to write about.

I got a new camera to play with.  I am thinking maybe it was easier with my old point and shoot.  Forgive me if my pictures lately are: fuzzy, out of focus, or dark.

Had a wonderful Christmas with my family.  Made a turkey roulade with a fig and cranberry dressing, kale and brussels saute, whipped potatoes, french green beans (haricot verts), and baklava for dessert.

DSC_0019 DSC_0020 photo 2-3

Before Christmas I tackled a canning project.  I have desperately wanted to learn to can from someone experienced.  I learn better from reading and then seeing/doing.  And since you could easily kill someone by not canning your food right, I was hesitant.

I decided to start with a small batch of salsa.  It seemed to go well.  I bought fresh tomatoes, red and heirloom, then peeled and seeded and chopped them.  I roasted 3 jalapeno, seeded and chopped them, and then mixed the rest of the salsa ingredients and spices into the pot.  I jarred the salsa, processed the jars, and then all sealed.  I would post pictures, but I gave some out as hostess gifts and then the Hubby got into the rest of the stash.

I also fermented a bunch of vegetables over the holidays.  Fermenting is not canning or pickling.  It adds probiotic bacteria into your food.  Think condiment food like sauerkraut, kimchi, cucumbers….

photo-4

 

It is Girl Scout cookie season.  This year we preordered our cookies.  Kate has been selling boxes like a champ.

images

I start back with culinary classes in a week.  I am taking Fundamentals of Baking this semester.  I am hoping to post pics and recipes from class and learn a ton.  I am more of a cook than a baker.  I don’t like to weigh and measure each ingredient.  Strange, since baking is such a science.  After this, I have 2 classes left to go!

 

Leave a Reply

