Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Bold Flavors September 11, 2014

Filed under: Meal Planning — clappingonthedownbeat @ 4:26 PM

I had a few leftover items in the fridge.  Not one to throw things away, I decided to try a version of Chilaquiles.  Mexican food is not one I cook alot of outside of tacos and enchiladas.  But a brunch item for lunch sounded good.  I had 2 chipotles and some corn tortillas to use.  Next time, I’d cut it down to one chipotle, because my mouth was on fire, but I am sure the hubby will say it wasn’t spicy at all.

First, I decided to bake the tortillas instead of fry.  It seemed easier and I needed the oven on to make other things.  I cut the tortillas into wedges.  I sprayed a baking sheet and laid them out, then spayed them, and sprinkled salt on top.

photo 1-3  photo 3-2

 

In a pot I sauteed one chopped onion and 2 whole garlic cloves in canola oil for a few minutes till the onions were slightly translucent.  Then I added 2 can of diced tomatoes.  I simmed it for 10 minutes.  Next I added the 2 chipotle peppers (roasted jalepenos in adobe sauce- you can buy them in a can).  I cooked for another minute or 2 and then pureed the sauce.

photo 2-3  photo 4-2  photo 3-3

The assembly:  I dropped the chips into the sauce and stirred to coat them.  Then I placed them on a plate.  I had fried and egg and placed that on top.  I then sprinkled goat cheese (feta or mexican cheese would work too) ontop with a scoop of sour cream (it helped cut the heat!  oh my).  Sliced red onions and cilantro would be great too if you had it (I despise cilantro- probably why I don’t eat a lot of mexican food).

photo 1-4  photo 2-4

As you can see, even tough my mouth was burning, I couldn’t stop eating.  It was really good, and it took less than 30 minutes!

Chipotle Chilaquiles

3 tablespoons canola oil

2 cans diced tomatoes

2 cloves garlic

1 yellow onion, roughly chopped

2 canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Tortilla Chips: Sixteen 6-inch corn tortillas cut into 8 wedges

Salt 6

fried eggs, for serving,

optional:  1/4 cup crumbled queso fresco, thinly sliced red onions, sour cream (Mexican crema)

HEAT OVEN TO 375.

For the salsa: Heat the canola oil in a medium heavy-bottomed skillet over medium-high heat. Add the tomatoes, garlic and onions and saute until golden brown, 10 minutes. Add the chipotles and saute for another minute. Puree. Season with salt and pepper. Pour back into pan and keep warm.

Spray a sheet pan and place tortilla wedges in one layer. Spray tortillas and sprinkle with salt. Bake at 375 for 10-15 min. Keep an eye on them to they get toasted but not browned. Add the tortilla chips to the skillet with the warm salsa, making sure all the chips are fully coated in the salsa. Transfer to a serving dish. Top with fried eggs if desired, and sprinkle with the queso fresco. Garnish with thinly sliced red onions, Mexican crema and chopped cilantro.

 

Leave a Reply

