Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Resolution 2015: write more posts…….. January 5, 2015

Filed under: Interests,Organization,Parenthood,Sharing and Caring,Yoga — clappingonthedownbeat @ 8:48 PM

Monday: 1/5/2015   7:42pm

I took my last shower of the week tonight.

It’s not like I am drastically conserving water and giving up personal hygiene.  I’ll go back to the fall……

I started having pain in my shoulder when doing chaturanga in yoga class.  So I cut back on the push-ups.  Then I tweaked my shoulder lifting a basket at work.  After some muscle relaxers, a cortisone shot and an MRI later, I found out Christmas Eve that I had a tear in my rotator cuff.  Merry Christmas to me.

Well, we had a ski trip planned and I decided to have the surgery when we came back.  I took it easy, and we all had a great time.  Kids were up and skiing down the mountain in a day and a half.

DSC08071

So getting back to the shower.  I had my pre-op appointment today to go over the details.  It became a quality of life issues.  I really don’t like to live in pain, so I’d rather have this fixed.  Plus I have 4 classes this semester and it will be difficult trying to cook with one arm in a sling.  The sooner the better.

As I am tying up loose ends for the family- checking that everyone has rides arranged to get where they need to go, the pantry is stocked, I take my shower of the week- I begin to get a little excited.  Last time I had surgery, to remove my tonsils ( I wrote a post on the nasty tonsils and sickness that lead to that surgery……) I had a week of rest time.  I am actually looking forward to a week of no work, no responsibilities, just rest time.  Which of course I will need for good healing.

I prepared 2 soups for the week to have on hand.  I especially love soup.  Here is one of the recipes:

Greek Bean Stew

In a little olive oil sauté 1 diced onion till soft.  Add 3 cloves chopped garlic and 1 tsp salt.  Stir and sauté about 3 minutes.  Add 1 Tbs tomato paste, 1 Tbs greek seasoning (oregano, rosemary, parsley, thyme), a few dashes of pepper and either 4-5 cups chicken stock or vegetable stock, 4 cups chick peas ( 2 drained and rinsed cans).  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20-30 minutes.  Take out half the soup and puree.  Add puree back to soup and squeeze in the juice of 1-2 lemons based on your taste.  Enjoy!

IMG_0974

I’ll post how the surgery went tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

