Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Small Goals January 10, 2015

Filed under: Interests,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 2:14 PM

Yesterdays goal was to take a shower.  I got the go-ahead from the Dr.  The sore arm really slows me down, all my upper body movements are slow and deliberate.  Here is how the shoulder is looking.

 

 

IMG_0977

 

There are three incisions.  One in the back, one on the side and one in the front of my shoulder (it is right by my thumb in the picture).  The shoulder doesn’t hurt as much as the muscles do.  It has been a good learning lesson to slow down, ask for help and prioritize.  Yes the grass on the floor, dishes in the sink and kid’s clutter drives me nuts, but I can’t really do much about it and it’s not super important.  (Insert repeat phase here, again).  Instead, I took a shower, washed my hair, changed clothes and started my bible study yesterday.  Today, I felt up to getting out, so a friend picked me up and Kate and I went to the store with her.

My goal for tomorrow is to get up and by to church on time.  If that goes well, then I might to try to go work on Monday.  And maybe sweep……….we’ll see.  Again one, step at a time.

I think that pertains to any of those “New Year Resolutions”.  Sometimes the statement is so big, that the first time or two that there is a slip up or a miss it’s easy to dump.  If organization is the goal, start with one area at a time.  This month I am going to organize the pantry.  When it’s done, then move to organizing medical files, or preparing for taxes, or cleaning out a closet.  The same is true for diet/health goals.  I see it a lot at the gym when I teach.  Small steps make big changes.  Instead of trying to overhaul a lifestyle, start small.  Try meatless mondays, a whole vegetarian meal.  Try a new recipe each week.  Try building your dinner plate first with the vegetable (1/2), then protein (1/2) then carb (1/4).    Try adding more steps in your day or break workouts into small chunks.  Pick small changes that won’t overwhelm.  More than likely, there will be more success.

 

And breathe, don’t forget to breathe.

 

Leave a Reply

