Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Hello Burgers. January 8, 2016

Filed under: Interests,Meal Planning,Sharing and Caring,travel — clappingonthedownbeat @ 1:38 PM

I’m really not a huge burger fan.  Actually, my favorite burgers are veggie burgers.  But then last spring I read and article on the 5 Best Burgers in OK.  I started mapping the sites out and started thinking, “2 hours isnt that far for a burger excursion”.  So last summer I put on my list (remember I really like lists) places to go check out for burgers.  In no particular order, here are some of our favorites.

  1. Folgers in Ada, OK    A 12 seat diner experience

DSC08340

2. Spork, Dallas   A funky family friendly joint with the best Bulgogi kimchi fries

11220843_10153501779243769_854283203675505408_n

3. Off Site Kitchen, Dallas     Green chili burger, Yum.

12241334_10153708344328769_5358323964672051560_n

Every once in a while I try my hand at burgers at home.  I must be turning into a southerner.  After 10+ years in Texas I now love pimento cheese.  This is a simple burger topped with a fried egg and an aged cheddar pimento cheese spread.

IMG_1904

For this burger, I had my ground beef in a vacuum sealed bag, so it was already flat and thin.  I cut the beef into 6 rectangles and seasoned with salt, pepper and granulated garlic.  I cooked them in a cast iron skillet and then finished them in the oven.  I fried 6 eggs over easy/medium.  In a food processor I made the pimento cheese spread with pimentos, green onions, mayo, cream cheese, and a really good aged cheddar.  Lastly, I buttered and toasted the challah rolls.

IMG_1905

Hello, burger.

 

Leave a Reply

