Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

One bowl meal January 13, 2016

Filed under: Interests,Meal Planning,Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 2:18 PM

If you can boil water, you can make this dinner.  I didn’t even use a pot or a knife.

Asian Rice Noodles

IMG_1920

Start the water.  Assemble the ingredients.

IMG_1919

In the fridge I had shredded carrots, green onions and some cooked shrimp in the frezer.  I have in the past also added broccoli, cooked (left over) chicken, tofu, chopped water chesnuts, bean sprouts…….Add what you like or what you have.  Next make the sauce.

IMG_1918

I start with a 1 cup measuring glass.  Adjust to your preference- I add 1/4 c. soy sauce, 2 Tbsp sugar or honey, 2 Tbs rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp chopped garlic, 1 tsp grated ginger and a few dashes of sesame seed oil.  If you like some heat, add red pepper flakes.

I hear the kettle whistling……..

IMG_1921

Put the noodles in a heat proof bowl.  My shrimp was frozen, so I added it on top and poured the hot water over.  Let sit for 5 minutes.  Then drain the water.

IMG_1922

I used my kitchen scissors to cut the green onions and I dumped in the carrots.  Pour the sauce over and give it a toss.

IMG_1923

Dinner in a flash.  Easy clean-up.  Great meal to use up what you have.  No super skills necessary.  Asian Rice Noodles.

 

Leave a Reply

