Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lazy Meals February 2, 2016

Filed under: Meal Planning,Organization,Parenthood — clappingonthedownbeat @ 7:29 PM

It takes me a little while to get back into the swing of the routine after a vacation.  I like to keep the pantry stocked with a few basics so I can pull together “lazy” or quick meal.  I love soup, so here is a rendition of Pasta Fagioli done the lazy way.  It’s a creamy bean and pasta soup.

IMG_2029

I usually have dried beans and some canned beans in the pantry along with lots of canned tomatoes.  You’ll need 2 cans of great nothern beans or cannellini beans.  In a blender dump one can of beans and 1 cup of water and puree.  Set aside.

In a large pot, add 1/4 c. olive oil and 3 chopped garlic cloves (I usually add 5- I like my garlic).  Stir the garlic around and let it soften, but not brown.  Then add 2 Tbsp flour.  Stir the flour and let it cook for about 2 minutes, again do not brown the flour, just cook out the “flour taste”.  Next add 8 cups of water, 2tsp salt, a pinch of red pepper flakes, 1 sprig of fresh rosemary (if you have it) and the bean puree.  Bring to a boil and let simmer 20-30 minutes.  Allow soup to thicken.

Next add a can of tomatoes- either diced or whole.  If they are whole tomatoes, crush them in your hands.  Add the second can of beans and 2 cups of ditalini (or another small shaped pasta) and simmer for 10-12 minutes till pasta is cooked.  I stir frequently so the pasta doesn’t stick to the bottom.  Fish out the rosemary sprig and toss it.

Serve.  Creamy, comforting, lazy, soup.

 

I’ve posted before- but Monte Cristo sandwishes are always a hit and quick to make.  I explain to my kids that if a turkey sandwich and french toast had a baby, it would be a Monte Cristo.

IMG_2025

I make the sandwiches first.  I like texas toast- thick white bread slices.  You can really build any sandwich you like.  I usually do mayo, turkey, swiss and a little dijon.  I wisk up 4 eggs and dip both sides of the sandwich in and then place on a butter skillet or griddle.  Toast both sides.  Traditionally, it;s served with powdered sugar and jam- but I don’t usually go that far.

IMG_2027

IMG_2026

Why is this lazy?  I really like Croque Monsieur- but it has more steps and you pour a cheese sauce over, its gets broiled ……..*sigh*  and this is the lazier version.

FN_Croque-Monsieur_s4x3.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

