Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Im no vegan…… February 17, 2016

Filed under: Interests,Meal Planning,Sharing and Caring,Step by step,Yoga — clappingonthedownbeat @ 1:23 PM

I am not vegan by any stretch.  I have been a vegetarian.  I consider myself a possibiltarian.    What?  I am open to trying possibilites.  I know what I like and I usually stick to that (never have been a steak fan), but I also don’t turn my nose up at trying something.

There is a coffee shop that sells a zucchini muffin that I adore.  It just happens to be a vegan prodcut.  I am attempting to replicate it.

Vegan baking can be tricky.  No dairy.  No eggs.  Lots of substitutes.

These muffins are pretty tasty and approved by my family.

For the egg replacement:

Soak 6 Tbsp ground flaxseed in 1/2 c. hot water.  Set aside

IMG_2097

In a large bowl mix 1/2 c. melted coconut oil, 2 c. raw sugar (turbinado) or light brown sugar, 1/2 c. applesauce, 1 tsp vanilla.  Mix well.  Shred 1 large zucchini (for about 2 cups).  Mix into wet ingredients.  Add flaxseed- should be like a paste.  In another bowl mix dry ingredients- 2c. flour, 1 c. whole wheat flour, 1 Tbsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 Tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp salt.  Add dry to wet and stir just till combined.  It will be lumpy.

IMG_2098

Spoon into muffin tins- this made 20 muffins for me.  I sprinkled a little raw sugar over the tops of the muffins ( I like the crunch).  Then bake at 350 for 22-25 minutes.

IMG_2099

Yum!  I plan to freeze some to save for later in the week.

 

Leave a Reply

