Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

In Action February 24, 2016

Filed under: Multiple Sclerosis,Parenthood,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:37 PM

The girl moves fast.                DSC_0348

As I watched the fast paced championship game, all I could think about was how fast life moves.  The game was such a metaphor.  Sometimes we get knocked down, hurt, pushed around.  Sometimes we aim for the goal and find success, sometimes not, but we rebound and try again.  Sometimes we get a fast break away or a great pass or assist.  Sometimes we lose, sometimes we win.  And it moves fast.

I also started brain training with a focus group from UT Austin school of nursing this week.  It was a stark contrast.  This is a MS study.  I was one of the youngest in the group and have been diagnosed the shortest amount of time.  It is the first time I have been in a group with others with MS.  Its a bit of a breath of fresh air to speak with someone who knows, who gets it, who has or is going through the same things.  Because no one understands.  No one knows- unless they have been there.  Right away when you mention the day you were diagnosed- they all know.  They had the same thoughts, the same tears, the fear, the same Dr. apts, the same tests, taking the same drugs.  Actually, when some of them were diagnosed there weren’t any drugs.

There are a few life changing events that have reshaped me and my view.  I move slower.  Because life is a marathon and not a sprint.  When there is a health scare or crisis, you change your view on what’s really important short term and long term.  My faith has put it all in perspective.  Yoga has taught me to be purposeful and intentional.  Learning about MS and then brain, I try to focus on one thing at a time and not multitask.  I listen to my body more.

I admitted to the group that I am in a bit of denial.  I don’t talk about the MS because I don’t define myself by it.  But I know it’s there.  I have 3x a week reminders (shots), bi-annual MRIs and nerve damage.  There was another woman there who has had MS for 20 years and could relate to me.  She said she doesn’t talk about it either and maybe only 5 people know she has MS.  I think the focus group will be good- for all of us.

The bike MS 150 is coming up.  Would you consider sposoring a rider for a worthy cause in my name?  Here’s a link: http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR/Bike/TXHBikeEvents?px=12671042&pg=personal&fr_id=27149

10 Facts about MS

Multiple sclerosis is a chronic, unpredictable disease of the central nervous system.
More than 2.3 million people are affected by MS worldwide.
Most people are diagnosed between the ages of 20 and 50.
Women are much more likely to develop MS than men.
There is no evidence MS is directly inherited.
It is challenging to diagnose MS.
No two people have exactly the same symptoms.
MS symptoms can be invisible.
The majority of people with MS do not become severely disabled.
MS has no cure.

 

Leave a Reply

