Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Leftovers February 29, 2016

Filed under: Meal Planning,Organization,Saving Money — clappingonthedownbeat @ 5:43 PM

I try to get the most out of food.  No sense in throwing it away.  That’s what you’ll learn in culinary classes.  Restaurants can’t afford to throw away food.

I bought a rotisserie chicken on friday night.  Usually all the chicken gets eaten and then I will use the bones to make chicken stock.  But since it was just the boys friday, there was left over chicken.

Chicken and Dumplings.

I always have onions, carrots and celery.

IMG_2174

I love the smell of butter, onions and celery cooking.  So in the pot went 1 small diced onion, 2 stalks celery diced and 2 carrots diced with 1 Tbsp butter and 1 Tbsp olive oil.

From here you could actually go in a bunch of directions………

IMG_2173

In another pot I dumped the leftover chicken and covered it with water (skin, bones meat and all).  I brought it to a boil, then down to a simmer for about 20 minutes.

I added 1 tsp thyme and 1/4 tsp ground tumeric to the vegetables.  Next I poured the chicken broth over the vegetables and pulled the meat off the bones.

IMG_2176  IMG_2175

I added about 1/2 c. half and half (or you could use heavy cream- which is the same as heavy whipping cream- I get asked that a lot) I brought it up to a simmer for 15 minutes.  Meanwhile I made the dumplings.

-In college I cooked Kosher dinners for Hillel on campus.  A favorite was chicken matzo ball soup.  The best part- the matzo balls.  Many cultures have a dumpling type recipe and those are always the best part.

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. corn meal

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Stir with a wire whisk.  Add 1 1/2 c. half and half or milk

IMG_2177

With two spoons, scoop dough into soup pot. Give the dumplings a little stir and cover with a lid, simmering about 20 minutes on LOW.

Dinner’s ready!

IMG_2178

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

