Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

It’s not all gourmet March 28, 2016

Filed under: Meal Planning,Saving Money — clappingonthedownbeat @ 1:56 PM

I hope there is not a feeling out there that everything I make is always some gourmet affair.  I’d like to share with you “leftover night dinner”.  This is where I see that there are some leftovers- but not enough for us all to eat- and I look through the pantry (make sure you rotate your can goods and check expiration dates!) and I dump everything together.

I had left over tater tots, half a bag of frozen corn, a can of chili beans, a can of diced tomatoes, taco seasoning, leftover cook ground bisonand about 1 1/2 c. leftover chicken broth.  At this point we culd have leaned towards a chili- but I went with taco seasoning.

IMG_2266

The tater tots broke apart and just look like diced potatoes.

IMG_2265

I also had some lettuce to use up and I always have sour cream and cheese.   From here this would make a great filling for enchiladas, or taco lasagna.  We ate it in bowls topped with lettuce, sour cream and cheese.

IMG_2267

I had another quick fix dinner this weekend.  I had a bag of red potatoes that I boiled up and then mashed.  We had a mashed potato bar- eat when you are hungry.  And yes, I do have that one child on occasion who decides that they really don’t like whatever I have fixed.  But, I am pretty firm in “this is what’s for dinner”.  If you don’t want to even try it, then there is a banana on the counter.  No one has ever starved  here.  If they are hungry, they eat it.

Panzanella 

This is traditionally a  Tuscan salad of bread and tomatoes that’s popular in the summer. It includes chunks of soaked stale bread and tomatoes, sometimes also onions and basil, dressed with olive oil and vinegar.  But for Easter I made a simple spring version.  This could be a meal in itself.

1 loaf seed and nut bread (I found one a Costco-Delicious) this could also be leftover loaf bread

1 Pkg frozen peas

1 bunch pencil thin asparagus- cut off just the top third

1 English cucumber- sliced

1 bunch watercress (usually sold in a package near lettuce section)

1/2 c. Olive oil

1/4 c. red wine vinegar

1 large shallot, minced

2 Tbsp fresh dill, chopped

salt/pepper

Cube bread into crouton (bite sized) pieces.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper and toast in the oven at 375 10-15 minutes.  Should be crunchy all the way through. (I did this the day before)

In a bowl mix olive oil, vinegar, shallot and dill.  Wisk.  Set aside.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Drop in peas and cook for 1-2 minutes.  Remove and place in a bowl of ice water (sometimes I cheat and place on a sheet pan and then stick in the fridge)  Repeat with asparagus (this is called blanching- brings the green out and par cooks the vegetables).

When ready to assemble- toss peas, cucmbers, asparagus, watercress and bread in dressing.  Serve.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

