Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

An Ending is really a Beginning May 25, 2016

Filed under: Meal Planning,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:17 PM

IMG_2504

Two weeks ago was graduation.  I actually finished all my course work in Decembe 2015, but they only do a graduation once a year in May.  This had been a long time coming and I decided to go.  I thought it would be fun for the kids to see too.

It was a little bitter sweet.  I think I could have stayed in school and kept taking classes.  But, I got this really cool job as a Chef for Williams Sonoma.  It’s “casual” employment, meaning I get to pick and choose my hours.  I teach cookbook classes, I demo equipment (hello! play time) and I teach techniques classes.  It doesn’t even feel like work.  I get to talk about food and cooking the whole time.  It feels like a square peg in a square hole.

Here’s a few of the fun things I have been doing:

IMG_2514  IMG_2516

This is an easy pan roasted chicken with garlic, thyme, rosemary and olive oil.  After 40 minutes in the oven some bread cubes get tossed in to soak up the juices and to use as croutons for the salad.

IMG_2521

This was for the cookbook club dinner at WS.  It was served with spiralized zucchini noodles, and a power greens salad and quick vinaigrette.

IMG_2517  IMG_2519

For dessert I whipped up a vegan chocolate mousse made from avocado, almond butter, maple syrup, and almond milk.  It was topped with a cashew cream.  I think it was better than the real thing.

Last weekend I taught a technique class on flavors of Mexico.  I cooked Oaxaca black beans, roasted chicken and then made nachos with two fruit salsas.

IMG_2527

IMG_2528  IMG_2529

Tomorrow I am teaching a class for a friend on how to prepare and cook ahead for the week using leftovers.  Then back to WS Friday where I get to demo the infrared smokeless indoor grill.  I’ll be featuring the WS rubs on pork chops, corn on the cob and making a quick beer bread.

If your in the area, come visit me in the Stonebier Mall!

 

Leave a Reply

