Clapping On The Down Beat

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear of ….. November 2, 2016

Filed under: Interests,Sharing and Caring — clappingonthedownbeat @ 9:47 PM

So it’s been a while.    Goals are dreams with deadlines, and I have set a few.   I started substitute teaching this fall, just to see if it’s still a love.  I spent a whole week teaching the periodic table to 6th grade science classes.  I loved it.  I guess it had been on the back burner for so long, I didn’t even know I missed it.  But, that may be because I have never really stopped teaching.

I have been in Texas 11 years now.  I decided it was time to actually get TX certified to teach.  Then I remembered all the things I didn’t like about education…… So after many phone calls, on-line registrations, and ordering a review book, I committed to take the Texas Science 4-8 certification exam.

No worries!?

I was an Environmental Science and Geography Major with a specialization in Biogeochemistry.  Although I love science, I haven’t taught in 12 years.   I have had three kids that I think have killed half my brain cells.  I have to do one thing at a time, because otherwise multitasking causes me to forget what I was doing.  I have been doing other things for the past 12 years (teaching group fitness classes, yoga classes, went to culinary school).  Pluto isn’t a planet anymore….

Fear seems to either cause people to not do something, or push people to do something.  Don’t let fear take grip.  Let fear fuel.  Honestly, the fear of failing made me study and focus more.  Nothing has ever come easy for me, I have always poured myself into it and worked at it.  I am not an expert in anything, but I do love learning.

The scope of the test was Biology, Physics, Chemistry and Earth Science.  Some of the subjects I haven’t thought about since undergrad.  Krebs cycle?  Plant and animal cells? Circuits?  Calculating joules, newtons and coulombs?  Balancing equations, calculation moles?  Bowens reaction series?  Yes, the fear of spending the money on the test and not passing (and having to take it again) drove me to study, review, diagram, read, take practice tests, and review again.

And secretly, I liked it.

If there was a paid job for “student”, I would apply.

Last Thursday was the test.  100 multiple choice questions on a computer.  After the test I was told 3-5 business days for scores.  Ugh!  The wait.  The second guessing.  The praying.

Yesterday I got the email.  Scores were in.  I had……….

Passed!

 

Leave a Reply

